Preproduction Day 3

I’m a morning person. One of my favorite times of day is from 5am to 8am. When I’m in a writing phase, this is when I get the most done. This is also when I watch 80% of the films I watch. My house is quiet, and it’s a time I can fully invest, knowing interruptions are unlikely. As previously mentioned, part of my pre-filming preparation is watching as many films as I can, both never seen before and favorites. This morning I watched Almost Famous. As in, I just finished it about 5 minutes ago. I have no idea how many times I’ve seen this film. Many times.

Almost Famous is a film filled with magic moments. Several of those moments happen when Kate Hudson is on screen. There’s a genuineness to her expressions. The film has feelings and emotion and heart and wisdom. It’s the kind of film that makes me want to make films.

I feel like I’m in the calm before the storm. I’m having several non-production related conversations, knowing I won’t be able to have as many of them once the madness fully settles into place. I’m looking for ways to spend time with my family. I’m checking things off the list and reminding people that I’m about to disappear.

We’re still trying to find and secure some locations. We two very important locations we have yet to settle on, and our hopes are we can lock those by the end of the week. Creating a schedule for a film is like working one of those 5000 piece jigsaw puzzles. Actor’s availability, trying to get businesses which are usually open during the hours we want to shoot, getting the right pieces to the right people, and thousands of other things have to sing in perfect harmony.

I hope to look at a few locations today. I’m sure I’ll send numerous emails and have multiple phone calls. I’ll try to not mention emails and phone calls from this point forward, as it will be a given.

I’m going to make some coffee now and have some breakfast with my family. I honestly have no idea what today has in store for me.

2 thoughts on “Preproduction Day 3

Leave a Reply

