Preproduction Day 4

Away We Go.

I watched this film by Sam Mendes (Road to Perdition, American Beauty, Skyfall) this morning, and so much of it resonated with me. Visually, it’s a very different film than many of his others, and the cinematographer is the same woman who shot Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (one of my all time favorites and a film I re-watched recently). It’s also a film about an adventure, and that’s the part that really struck a note with me, much like Almost Famous and The Secret Life of Walter Mitty from the previous days. The supporting roles in this film (all the actors, really) were fantastic. I love a good ensemble. Drama and comedy, absurdity and real life, all rolled up into a neatly designed sushi roll served with fresh ginger. I’m kind of hungry. Anyway.

We are deep into the process of making so many decisions, and I am fully aware this is merely the beginning of a myriad of days filled with countless and often tiresome decisions needing to be addressed. I accept the challenge. I have no choice, actually.

Films and real estate share the same motto: location, location, location. Without beautiful and relevant locations, films would be bland or even flavorless, and we would spit them out of our mouths at the first taste. Location is such an important aspect to what we do, and we’re trying to make several decisions in the next few days related to the spaces we’ll be filming.

I spent a large part of my day doing graphic design and working on a rebrand for the film. More about that tomorrow.

The majority of my afternoon was spent on the phone, talking to our UPM and the producers. We’re in the process of contacting agents in hopes of securing some “name” talent for some of the small supporting roles. These are roles where we fly an actor/actress in for a day of shooting, and then release them into the wild the following day. Let me say this: we have some incredible talent in Nashville. SO many great actors. Part of the game for distribution is to have faces people recognize, so we’re trying to play up to that as much as we can as well as using many talented local actors.

As a writer/director, part of my job is to create interesting characters, even if they’re only on screen for 5 minutes or 5 seconds. Especially if we’re trying to entice bigger names with known faces to come spend a day or two with us in the ever-growing city of Nashville. I’m hoping the idea of coming to Nashville is at least a point of intrigue if my script doesn’t peak interest. Ultimately, it comes down to money though, as do most things in life.

I’m going to cook some salmon and green beans now and eat with the family. We also have a showing on our house tomorrow, as if I didn’t have other things on my plate. I’m very thankful for the showing, btw. My hope is we sell the house before we start production. I’m sure it will all work out. Or it won’t. Either way: I’m making a movie, and I couldn’t be more excited.

Leave a Reply

