Preproduction Day 9

Today started with The Descendants. I’ve never seen this film before, but it’s been on my list for a few years. It was fine. The music really grated on my nerves, but apart from that, it was fine. I really enjoyed the performances from the cast and the cinematography was well done.

After watching the film, I made some damn near perfect fried eggs (or yolk eggs as we call them). We cook eggs 5-7 times a week, and making perfect yolk eggs on a daily basis is the bane of my existence. Today was pure victory. Plus we ate bacon and banana bread pancakes.

Emails and texts. Phone calls. Decisions.

We’re close to locking so many locations. We’re scouting two or three more tomorrow, and after that, I hope we have enough information to lock everything.

Starting today, I have an “assistant.” I’ve never had an assistant, and it feels kind of strange. What makes it less strange is that the assistant is one of my longtime partners in film crime, Jennifer Bonior. She’s an incredible producer, director, and all around filmmaking badass. I’m completely honored to have her as my right hand during the making of this film.

Jennifer and I spent the morning going over a bevy of film related items as we begin setting up our “system.”

One of the things about making a low budget film is your budget is low. Everything costs money, and we have enough to make a great film, but every money wanting to be spent is constantly being monitored and questioned. It really helps you determine what is vital and what is superfluous. It’s a wonderful exercise in learning to live within your means.

Tonight we’re doing a table read. I’ll report on that tomorrow.

Later this week we’re doing a couple of casting calls. Nashville has an incredible acting community, and I am honored to see and hear several wonderful actors speak into these roles. I know we’re going to have a lot of big decisions to make.

Leave a Reply

