Preproduction Day 12

Today began with a movie I’ve been wanting to see for a while, Sicario. Super intense. Superb acting. The main reason this film has been on my list so long is because it was shot by cinematographer Roger Deakins, long time collaborator with the Coen Brothers, and cinematographer of Shawshank Redemption, No Country for Old Men, and Skyfall. I don’t think Sicario visually stands next to those three films, but it’s still beautifully shot by a master.

Phone calls, graphic design, and emails this morning. For the 4th day in a row, I took a salad into the office for lunch. Some people think it’s cute. I’m okay with that.

Casting all afternoon. Once again, I love the actors in this city. We have some great talent. Now we have to make some big decisions.

Part of making a film is legal and paperwork and contracts. For the creatives in the room, this can feel daunting and endless, but, once again, we have an amazing team helping us through everything. I had to go get a contract notarized this afternoon (the one where I sell my screenplay to the production). And this was a requirement of SAG/AFTRA, who we are happy to be working with for this production.

And this afternoon, after casting and legal conversations, I met with our production designer, and we discussed, you know, production design. Locations. Art on the walls. The fun stuff. It’s all fun, actually. Hard, long work, but so fun.

I’m going to unplug until tomorrow. Do something fun tonight. You deserve it.

Leave a Reply

