Production Day 2

This day, day 2 of production on Other Versions of You, started out with a delicious cup of coffee with the other producers. Seriously. It was one of the best “frou frou” coffee drinks (as coined by David Perry) I’ve ever had. We met at Steadfast in Germantown, and I had a drink called Atlas. I can’t even start to explain it to you. Apparently Alton Brown thinks it’s incredible, and that guy knows what he’s talking about.

After a great chat with the producers, I headed to set for a solid day of heavy emotional scenes. From a shooting and set up standpoint, our day wasn’t terribly heavy, but our actors carried a ton of the weight as we shot a few of the most emotion heavy days of the entire film. Yeah. On day 2. But they crushed it. I love our cast.

I’ve mentioned it several times before, but the production design of the room we shot in the last 2 days was unreal. Beauty wrapped in beautiful. Every item in the room was intentionally placed with love and thoughtfulness. I can’t wait for you to see what we’re shooting.

As we moved locations and started setting up for the last shot of the day, something happened. This something is the kind of something that makes producers and Assistant Directors wake up in the middle of the night screaming. As we framed and lit the last shot of the night, I looked over to Micah, the cinematographer, and said, “This isn’t going to work.” We both had the terror creeping up inside of us as we watched the lights go up and tried to find a way to make it work, but no. It just wasn’t going to happen.

So I asked Micah to follow me, and we ran up a couple of flights of stairs and looked at another location. This is a location was not a location we were supposed to use for shooting. But I asked if we could shoot there. And as I anxiously waited for the answer, I stared at the location we were lighting, hoping in my heart of hearts that we were going to be able to shoot the other location.

But here’s the thing: Tomorrow is a HEAVY day. And I approached our AD team and asked them to move another scene to that day in another location. I knew the ask was a big one, but once everyone heard the plan, there was wholehearted agreement that it was the right decision. So for the next 2 hours, we planed, plotted, and tried our hardest to figure out if we could make it work. We cut set ups. We reduced and tweaked.

I hope to tell you tomorrow it all worked. Right now I can only hope. IF we get what I want us to get tomorrow, we’re going to have some incredible footage. If we don’t get all of it, sacrifices will have to be made. My plan is to sacrifice nothing and push everyone into greatness.

I can’t stress enough how thankful I am for this team. People are passionate and want to make the best stuff. People have pride. This team is working ridiculous hours. I cannot say enough about it.

Two days are done. I’m doing everything to pace myself. My excitement and passion are very much overpowering my exhaustion. I’m so jazzed about what we captured the last two days, and we have many more to go. Magic on top of magic on top of magic. I’m so thankful.

Leave a Reply

