Production Day 14

Any large, longterm project can often have what I like to call the “family effect,” which, in the most simple terms, means everyone involved becomes part of your extended family. Those you don’t work with directly all day are like distant cousins, and those you spend all your time with become brothers and sisters. In some of our actor’s case, this is literal. Part of becoming part of a production family is celebrating the highs, and loving each other through the lows. You hope the lows stay away, but life continues to happen, even when you’re making a movie.

My heart is heavy as I share that one of our extraordinary office staff lost her father as we were wrapping day 14. In the last 2 years, I’ve watched some of the most exciting things happen in my life while some of the most terrible stuff was happening simultaneously. The double edged sword of life and love and living on this world and traversing the terrain in our fragile earth suits.

We now find ourselves at the end of week 3 of production on Other Versions of You. I really can’t express how pleased I am with this production. From top to bottom, we have some of the most incredible people working on this film. After a long weekend, we only have 4 days of film left.

Day 14 was filmed with exciting set visitors, rain, a new cast member, funny (and unexpected) moments, and the magic of a location (and the fine touches of the art and grip department) helping to make our scenes sing on the camera. I can’t wait for you to see some of the scenes and moments we filmed.

Next week we will be meeting a few new cast members and then settling into our last location, where we will camp for three days. Then the filming will be complete.

I had a nice chat with our editor this morning, and he’s already deep into the first cut of the film.

I’m going to spend some time this weekend with my family, maybe watch some Black Mirror, and try to take a moment or two away from the production so I’ll be completely refreshed before our last week. I will say this, though: I’m very energized. Everyone involved is joyful and helping to make magic. It’s very tragic when I hear stories of other productions going so wrong. Why would you want to have a poisonous set? What good does that do? We’re making a movie! We’re creating worlds people have never seen before. We’re playing with lights and words and images.

There’s nothing I’d rather do.

Leave a Reply

