Production Day 17

The second to last day of production is complete. We stayed ahead of schedule most of the day, cut something we were planning on shooting (which was a good move), and even wrapped a bit early.

With only one day left, I write this with a somewhat heavy heart. This has been an unforgettable experience filled with beautiful images, unreal performances, great weather, hard work, and immeasurable passion. I feel like I say it every time, but the team of people making this film is top notch. Great attitudes. Hard work. Everyone working their asses off to make something wonderful.

Here’s something I’m working through as a director: directing actors when they are being intimate. We don’t have any sex scenes in this film, but it is a romance, and sometimes when there’s romance, people kiss. It’s simple math and science. When I write things, I think about the kissing (you know, because I’m writing it, and that’s what people do), but I always forget that directing actors (at least for me) to kiss and act like they are falling in love with one another is tricky. I’ll say this about my actors – they are all professionals and make it happen without me having to come in and say awkward things to them, but it’s still a little odd for me.

All that being said, we had some kissing scenes and they were fine. Everything went very well.

I have to prepare now for our final day of shooting. I’m sure I have a lot more to say, and I hope to say all of it soon. Maybe in chunks. I’ve learned so and experienced so much during this process, and I know I have so much more to learn (and experience).

Leave a Reply

