Postproduction – Editing (Chapter 1)

Around 4 weeks ago, we finished production of Other Versions of You. I feel like so much time has passed since that late Friday evening when we rolled our last shot of the film, which wasn’t actually the last shot of the film, but I digress.

As of right now, we have approximately 10 scenes left to edit and then we’ll have a rough cut. This is probably another 2 days of editing with Ken Conrad (our editor). Ken and I have been spending a lot of time together the last 4 weeks. We’ve watched a lot of footage. Many scenes were already roughed together before we started our process, but we’ve plowed through a ton of scenes of this film.

Once the rough is together, we will watch it several times. When I say “we,” I mean me, Ken, and the other producers. We will take copious notes. And then Ken and I will start on the next draft of the film, meticulously going through every note from everyone. Scene by scene. Trimming. Looking for different takes. Noticing continuity errors. Searching for additional B-Roll.

It’s also during this time that our composer(s) and I will be working on getting some of the score in tact. We’re also going to be working with a music supervisor to help get some songs licensed.

We have a long way to go, but I’m ridiculously excited with what we have hobbled together at this point. There are so many incredible moments and heartfelt scenes. I can’t wait for you to see it.

I also recently put together a Narrative Director’s Reel. Here it is:

Leave a Reply

